Board Business: December 2021

This blog post is intended to keep you up to date on the happenings of the Board of School Trustees of the Community School Corporation of Southern Hancock County. Please read below for a recap of the board’s meeting on December 13, 2021.

Monday’s meeting began with recognition for three different groups. Three students were recognized as National Honor Roll selections in the Noetic Math Contest. Erickson Barrett, Samuel Hirschy, and Evan Stickford were all recognized for their selections.

New Palestine High School student Zach Au was recognized for being selected as a semifinalist for the National Merit Scholarship.

New Palestine High School art teacher Clyde Gaw was recognized for being named a Distinguished Fellow by the Art Education Association of Indiana. You can read more about this award here.

One donation was approved. Bell Mortuary donated $150 to Mr. Large’s Service Learning class at New Palestine High School to be used for that class’s project benefitting the Hope Center.

Two overnight field trips were approved for the NPHS guard for contests on December 21, 2021, and April 7, 2022.

The board approved the schedule of summer school classes and summer enrichment camps and fees for 2022. Information on summer school and our summer enrichment program will be available after Christmas break.

The board approved a resolution for Assistant Superintendent Bob Yoder to transfer funds from various accounts. The district is required to finish the calendar year with all accounts having a positive balance. This resolution is passed annually and permits the district’s business department to transfer funds accordingly to align the district budget. 

The board heard four policies in a first reading. Changes to existing policies or new policies require two readings prior to a vote for approval. In most cases, these changes are slight adjustments to language or changes made due to new federal, state, or local laws. The board heard slight amendments to two existing policies and two new policies. All four policy changes will be heard in a second reading at the board’s January meeting.

Three community members provided remarks during the informal comment portion of the meeting. Nathan Brooks, Jill Jones, and Allison Crispin addressed the board.

The board’s next meeting is scheduled for January 10, 2022, at 6:30 p.m. at the CSCSHC Administration Office.